Midlo showers Class of 2020 with accolades

2020 Midlothian High School Virtual Awards and Scholarship Ceremony

Dr. Shawn Abel and Mrs. Heather Murfee


On Friday, May 29, 2020, Midlothian High School released the 2020 Midothian High School Virtual Senior Awards and Scholarship ceremony video recognizing the academic achievements of the Class of 2020. Principal Shawn Abel presented the awards and scholarships to deserving seniors, highlighting their many academic achievements in the classroom this year. Due to the unprecedented pandemic restrictions, schools have had to seek non-traditional approaches to celebrating the senior class. Graduation ceremonies will take place at Midlothian High School June 2, 2020, through June 4, 2020, by appointment, following CDC recommendations. Congratulations, Class of 2020!

Highlights include:

Class of 2020 Top Ten:

Valedictorian: Rylee Gregory (Brigham Young University)

Salutatorian. Ben Wrobel  (University of Virginia)

Number 3; Margaret (Liza) Hopper (University of South Carolina)

Number 4: Vic Lin (University of Virginia)

Number 5: Annabel Schepker (College of William and Mary)

Number 6: Jakob Marshall (University of Southern California)

Number 7: Alison Vonderharr (University of Virginia)

Number 8 (TIE): Rachel Damico (Virginia Tech) Zander Hesch (University of Richmond)

Number 10: Emily Morrison (UNCW)


The following Midlo seniors will join the United States Armed Forces:

Shamyra Johnson (Army)

Jayron Jones (Army)

Justin Kopecko (Army)

Tim Lam (Marines)

Logan Noble-Marx (Navy)

Jack Ring (Army)

Troy Smith (Air Force)

Addison Zschaber (Marines)

Class of 2020 Awards & Scholarships:

Richard Engel Award: Sydney Carpenter

USMC Scholastic Excellence: Rylee Gregory & Ben Wrobel

USMC Distinguished Athlete: Erin Junkmann & Bradley Christian Chambers

DAR Award: Cameron Hogge

Midlothian Junior Women’s Association Community Service Award: Madeline Thomsen

Trojan Nations Leadership Award: Mackenzie Sherrod & Zoe Kopidis

Girl Scout Troop Scholarship: Courtney Galligher & Morgan Cobbs

Leadership for the 21st Century Scholarship: Alexandra Murias Roman

VT Pamplin Leadership Scholarship: Ashley Manheim

Coach David Cooper Athletic Scholarship: James Oliver

Walton Park Women’s Club Scholarship: Alexandra Kontos & Brandon Brown

Renee Wagner Smoots Memorial Scholarship: Jacob Cantor & Ben Wrobel

Duggan Scholarship: Somari Betton

Al Park Class of 1995 Scholarship: Benson Kaminski & Margaret (Liza) Hopper (honoring Mrs. Fiege & Mrs. Hill)

Jennifer Pascal Scholarship: Sydney Nguyen

Senior Class of 2020 Scholarship: Amanda Jennings, Somari Betton, Ashley Manheim, & Jakob Marshall

Latin Club Scholarship: Alexandra Murias Roman & Nora Carlucci

GRASP Last Dollar Scholarship: Paige Advocate-Ross

IB CAS Scholarship: Courtney Galligher

PTSO Scholarship: Cameron Long, Rebecca Gonzalez, Annabel Schepker, Margaret (Liza) Hopper, Ryan South, Kayse Umbaugh, Colby Valiante, & Caroline Leach

To access External Organization and University Awards & Scholarships, click HERE

To view the 2020 Midlo awards program, which includes future plans of the graduates, click HERE

The Virtual Graduation Ceremony will be televised on Friday, June 19, 2020, at 9:00 am on Comcast Channel 96 and Verizon FIOS Channel 26.