English Students Enhance the Community

NEHS Inductions, 2018

Photo by: Caitlin Woods
Bessmah Al-Ashari and her sister Haifa Al-Ashari proudly display their award for being newly inducted to the National English Honors Society.

High achieving students who have worked diligently in their English classes were inducted into the National English Honors Society (NEHS) on January 4, 2019, in the Midlothian library during Midlo Morning. NEHS members, new and old, attended the celebration.

The ceremony began with Mr. Daniel Cheatham informing the new members of the necessary qualifications required to achieve this honor. After his introductory speech, Mr. Cheatham then called the new members to step up to the podium, as Mrs. Brooke Hoke handed them their certificates and congratulated them on their honors.

Midlo’s NEHS chapter inducted 63 new members, who show their interest and skills in English, through participation in organizations that enhance English appreciation, such as: involvement in Midlo’s publications, Theater, Service Learning, or serving as a Success mentor, while also achieving at least a B in English class. After the new members shook hands with NEHS leaders and accepted their awards, Mr. Cheatham adjourned the meeting by exclaiming, “Let them eat cake!” and both new and old members enjoyed cake and beverages.

Congratulations, National English Honors Society Inductees

Besmah S. Al-Ashari

Haifa S. Al-Ashari

Abigail C. Allums

Lara O. Ballout

Sydney G. Barefoot

Kaylee F. Botset

Kristen E. Botset

Hannah D. Bridges

Hannah D. Brown

Katherine C. Busick

Julia R. Busick

Taylor L. Busick

Sydney F. Costantino

Julia N. Cunningham

Rachel A. Damico

Rachel E. Deel

James G. Gardner

Angela S. Giji

Navilia Gottipati

Nour Goulmamine

Rylee S. Gregory

Cara E. Hahn

Anna L. Hayes

Mary Courtney Hettinger

Margaret E. Hopper

 Olivia M. Ibanez

 Evealee K. Ingram

 Amanda S. Jennings

Erin E. Junkmann

 Fariza Kareem

 Zoe G. Kopidis

 Alexis R. Labott

 Kendall L. Lewis

 Lauren E. Lingle

 Kaitlyn L. Lucero

 Abbey Y. Lynch

 Akhila L. Mandalika

 Ashley R. Manheim

 Lauren S. Misson

Sarah R. Moskovitz

Khanh Nhu L. Nguyen

Braden M. Nostheide

Bari B. Novey

Anushka S. Pandya

Ashley J. Peterson

Juliana M. Peterson

Elizabeth A. Potts

Resshma Rajendran

Emma N. Rice

Gabriella M. Rizzo

Carrie A. Rowley

Christopher S. Sawyer

Annabel G. Schepker

Kaitlyn R. Siegel

Elizabeth M. Six

Nataly M. Solares Sarceño

Helen D. Trout

Summer M. VanNostrand

Devyn G. Vernier

Katherine E. White

Preston J. Willett

Spencer R. Willett

Megan M. Wunderlich