Rewarding Excellence in Journalism

Quill and Scroll Inductions

New members of Quill and Scroll smile brightly at the induction.

During Midlo Morning on Tuesday March 14th, 2017, students from Midlo Scoop, Trojan Live Network, and Yearbook, were inducted into Quill and Scroll, the International Honorary Society for High School Journalists.  The Quill and Scroll Honor Society encourages excellence in scholastic journalism. Publication sponsors, Mrs. Jackie Tully (Midlo Scoop), Mr. Tim Johnson (yearbook), and Mr. Randy West (TLN), considered junior and senior staff members who have exhibited superior work throughout the year for induction.

Mrs. Tully and Mr. Johnson hosted the event, calling each new inductee to the front to claim a yellow carnation, a Quill & Scroll certificate, and a pin, while congratulating each student.  Seniors also received blue and gold graduation cords. Congratulations to new and old members of Quill and Scroll for demonstrating excellence in journalism and working diligently to showcase important events that happen each day at Midlothian High School.

2017 Quill and Scroll Inductees

Midlo Scoop (online newspaper)

Lara Douglas

Patterson Levitch

Merrill Livingston

Ellen Tucker

The Trojan (yearbook)

Kylie Call

Erin Geiszler

Caroline Hopper

Mackenzie Jenkins

Jenna Kyte

Hallie Strickland

Margaret Weinhold

Trojan Live Network (broadcast journalism)

Kate Hicks

Ivan Jackson

Sophia Trout